top of page

LeGaL Announces Judicial Ratings for the June 28, 2022 Primary Elections

The Judiciary Committee of The LGBT Bar Association of Greater New York (LeGaL) is pleased to announce its ratings of candidates in the contested primary elections for the five counties of New York City for the following offices: Judge of the New York Civil Court and Surrogate.

Candidates were eligible to receive the following ratings: "Highly Approved," "Approved," "Not Approved," or "Failed to Appear."

In order to obtain an "Approved" rating, the Panel must be satisfied that the candidate, once on the bench, will: 1) demonstrate a commitment to the equality of rights for all lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people; 2) possess the integrity, intellect, experience, and temperament required of judicial office; and 3) perform judicial duties without bias or prejudice against or in favor of any person and will not permit discrimination against any minority in his or her courtroom.

In order to obtain a rating of "Highly Approved," the candidate must possess all of the characteristics required for an "Approved" rating to an outstanding degree, and in addition must have demonstrated a commitment to the equality of rights for all lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.

To download a pdf version of these ratings, please click here.



Civil Court — Countywide:

Philip F. Grant — Interview Pending

Patrick Hayes Torres — Approved


Civil Court — Second Municipal Court District of New York County:

Carmen A. Pacheco — Approved

David Alan Fraiden — Approved

Civil Court — Fourth Municipal Court District:

Matthew Bondy — Interview Pending

Terence W. McCormick, Esq. — Highly Approved


Verley A. Brown — Approved

Elba Rose Galvan — Failed to Appear

Hilary Gingold — Approved


Civil Court — Countywide:

Devian Daniels — Failed to Appear

Maria T. Gonzalez — Failed to Appear

Karen Lin — Highly Approved

Thomas Medardo Oliva — Failed to Appear


LeGaL's Judiciary Committee:

Janice B. Grubin, Esq., Co-Chair

Michael J. Weiner, Esq., Co-Chair

Pamela B. Goldsmith, Esq., Vice-Chair

Craig A. Convissar, Esq.

Lee Coppage, Esq.

David S. Flugman, Esq.

Michael B. Gallub, Esq.

Martha L. Golar, Esq.

Alexandra P. Kolod, Esq.

Kaegan M. Mays-Williams, Esq. (On sabbatical 2021)

Concepcion A. Montoya, Esq.

Jason J. Oliveri, Esq.

Antony J. Perrotto, Esq.

Ethan D.B. Rice, Esq.

David A. Rozen, Esq.

Christopher Salloum, Esq.

Jorge Tenriero, Esq.

Beth L. Williams, Esq.

Matthew Mayers, Law Student Intern (Syracuse College of Law – 3L)

771 views0 comments
bottom of page