& Community Vision Awards 


Cocktails 6:00 p.m. & Dinner 7:30 p.m. 
















Community Vision Awardees

ACLU, represented by Susan N. Herman, President of the ACLU

Lisa A. Linsky, Partner at McDermott Will & Emery


Lifetime of Service Awardees

Hon. Marcy L. Kahn, Justice, Appellate Division, First Department

Hon. Rosalyn H. Richter, Justice, Appellate Division, First Department


Hon. Deborah A. Batts, United States District Court, Southern District of New York

ACLU, represented by Susan N. Herman

In 2019, the ACLU marked 100 years of defending civil rights and civil liberties. The organization brought its first LGBTQ rights case in 1936 and founded the LGBTQ Project in 1986. Today, the ACLU brings more LGBTQ cases and advocacy initiatives than any other national organization. The ACLU represents Amiee Stephens in a Supreme Court case that could chart the future of workplace anti-discrimination protections in the United States. The ACLU has been on the frontlines in the fight to defend civil and human rights during the Trump era. Susan N. Herman was elected President of the ACLU in 2008. She holds a chair as Centennial Professor of Law at Brooklyn Law School.

Lisa A. Linsky

Lisa A. Linsky is a partner and member of the Litigation Group at McDermott Will & Emery LLP. Lisa was McDermott’s first Partner-in-Charge of Firm-wide Diversity and created and chaired the Firm-wide LGBT Diversity and Inclusion Committee. She spearheaded an alliance with pro bono client The Mattachine Society of Washington, DC, which entails “archive activism” and the rescue of historic governmental documents which establish a paper trail of animus and discrimination exhibited against LGBT Americans dating back to the 1940s. Lisa served as a board officer for Lambda Legal and is now a board officer and member of the Executive Committee for the LGBT Community Center of NYC. 

Justice Marcy L. Kahn

Justice Marcy L. Kahn sat on the Appellate Division, First Department bench from 2016 until her retirement last September. Justice Kahn was the first out lesbian appointed to the New York City Criminal Court in 1987 and was later elected to the State Supreme Court in 1994. Chief Judge Janet DiFiore named her as the founding co-chair of the Richard C. Failla LGBTQ Commission of the New York Courts, which works to foster a more equitable, supportive environment for the LGBTQ community in the courts and the profession.

Justice Rosalyn H. Richter

Justice Rosalyn H. Richter has sat on the Appellate Division, First Department bench since 2009 and will have amassed three decades of experience in the New York State Unified Court System when she retires this summer. In addition to her remarkable service as one of the first two openly LGBTQ judges appointed to an appellate court, Justice Richter has a long history of involvement in the community, including her work as executive director of Lambda Legal and as its first paid staff attorney. Justice Richter is a champion of promoting diversity and inclusion in the legal profession.

Judge Deborah A. Batts

When Judge Deborah A. Batts was sworn in as a United States District Judge for the Southern District of New York in 1994, she became the nation’s first openly LGBTQ Article III judge and joined the very small sorority of African-American women on the federal bench. In 2012, Batts assumed senior status, but continued to maintain an active docket until her death earlier this month. Judge Batts leaves behind a broad legacy for all New Yorkers as a trailblazer and an astute jurist. In 1995, LeGaL presented Judge Batts with a Community Vision Award.

About the Annual Dinner

The Annual Dinner and Community Vision Awards supports the charitable and educational activities of the LeGaL Foundation, including our pro bono legal clinicsLGBT Law Notes, Law Student Career FairJudicial Fellowship Program, and a host of additional activities benefiting the LGBT legal community and the public. As part of the Annual Dinner Ceremony, LeGaL presents Community Vision Awards to honor individuals or organizations with a distinguished record of service to the LGBT community, including a sustained commitment to achieving equal rights for all members of our community. 


Each year, LeGaL's Annual Dinner receives support from the small and large law firm community, as well as corporations and individual contributors. If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, please visit the links above or click here.





Allen & Overy LLP

Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Outten & Golden LLP

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Proskauer Rose LLP

Rosenberg & Estis, P.C.

Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz

Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld LLP

Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP

Barclay Damon LLP

Blank Rome LLP

Boies Schiller Flexner LLP

Brady, Klein, Weissman LLP 

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

Capell Barnett Matalon & Schoenfeld LLP

Chemtob, Moss, Forman & Beyda, LLP

Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP

Cooper & Dunham LLP

Covington & Burling LLP

Cravath, Swaine & Moore, LLP

Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

Epstein Becker & Green, P.C.

Foley & Lardner LLP

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP

Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP

Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Greenberg Traurig, LLP 

Holland & Knight LLP

Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Firm, LLP

Jenner & Block LLP

JPMorgan Chase & Co. 

Kaplan Hecker & Fink LLP

Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

Kelley Drye & Warren LLP

Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP

Kurland Group

Latham & Watkins LLP

Loeb & Loeb LLP

Lowenstein Sandler LLP

McCarter & English, LLP

McDermott Will & Emery

MetLife, Inc.

Milbank LLP

Morrison & Foerster Foundation

Moses & Singer LLP

New York Law School

Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton

      & Garrison LLP

Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP

Richard Freiman & Associates, PLLC

Robins Kaplan LLP

Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP

Severance, Burko, Spalter, Masone

      & Laurette PCSullivan & Cromwell LLP

Susman Godfrey LLP

Wigdor LLP

Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP


Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP


Thomas H. Andrykovitz, Esq.

The Law Office of Erica Bell PLLC

Caprice Bellefleur

Bill and Elizabeth Crosby

Jennifer Cruz

Friedman Kaplan Seiler

     & Adelman LLP

Gallo Vitucci Klar LLP

Hofstra School of Law

Hon. Marcy Kahn

Russ Korins

Prof. Arthur S. Leonard

Meredith R. Miller

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Divya Rashad

Hon. Rosalyn Richter

Seth M. Rosen & Jacob K. Goertz

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher

      & Flom LLP

Hon. Michael R. Sonberg

*Sponsors listed have been confirmed as of 02/20/2020.